Join a UniSkills webinar online!

UniSkills provides a wide range of support designed to help you develop your academic skills and confidence at University and beyond. We are committed to continuing our support during this uncertain time, albeit in a slightly different way…

We know our popular UniSkills workshops are valued by students across all years of study to help you find high-quality academic information online and develop your academic writing and referencing skills. Over the next few weeks we will be delivering these workshops via an online classroom which means you can join us wherever you are.

UniSkills Virtual Support

UniSkills Webinars

Finding Academic Information
Improve your search strategy, make the most of the library catalogue, online reading lists and Discover More to find eBooks and journal articles for your assignments, and learn how to evaluate your sources.

Friday 1st May | 11am-12pm
Thursday 14th May | 2pm-3pm

Reading Academic Texts
This session will give you some great tips for active reading and help you develop effective reading skills.

Thursday 21st May | 12pm-1pm

Become a Paraphrasing Pro
This webinar will teach you handy techniques to avoid plagiarism, as well as how to strike that all-important balance between paraphrased sentences and direct quotes.

Wednesday 6th May | 2pm-3pm
Friday 22nd May | 1pm-2pm

Being Critical
This webinar will help you develop the crucial academic skills of critical reading and conveying critical thought in your writing.

Tuesday 5th May | 10am-11am
Tuesday 12th May | 12pm-1pm

Academic Writing
Join us for an Introduction to Academic Writing webinar or, if you are looking to take your writing to the next level, why not join our Develop Your Academic Writing.

Introduction to Academic Writing
Monday 27th April | 11am-12pm
Monday 11th May | 2pm-3pm
Tuesday 26th May | 10am-11am

Develop Your Academic Writing
Tuesday 28th April | 1pm-2pm
Thursday 7th May | 1pm-2pm
Wednesday 13th May | 10am-11am
Wednesday 20th May | 2pm-3pm
Wednesday 27th May | 2pm-3pm

Harvard Referencing
An introduction to the Harvard referencing style including in-text citations, bibliography/reference lists and the importance of referencing to avoid plagiarism.

Wednesday 29th April | 2pm-2:45pm
Thursday 14th May | 11am-11:45am
Monday 18th May | 10am-10:45am
Thursday 28th May | 12pm-12:45pm

There are no limits to how many webinars you can attend, so book your place today via the date links above or visit ehu.ac.uk/workshops to browse them all. You will receive a booking confirmation email immediately to confirm your place and, closer to the event, you will receive another email with more details on how to join your online session. Please note bookings close 24 hours before the webinar start time.

Don’t forget there is a wide range of online support and information available 24/7 on the UniSkills webpages, and your ‘My Library’ tab in Blackboard Learning Edge, and you can still access individualised 1-2-1 UniSkills support online with one of our Academic Skills Advisors weekdays 8am-6pm.

If you have any questions or queries about how we can support you with your academic skills during this period contact us via email at CatalystEnquiries@edgehill.ac.uk or use our Ask Us service.

We look forward to seeing you at one of our webinars soon!